You are here
Home > Motorsport > NASCAR: 60th Edition Daytona 500

NASCAR: 60th Edition Daytona 500

Sunday marks the 60th Anniversary of Daytona 500

3 pm ET

7 pm GMT – Freesports – Sky Channel 424 – Freeview Channel 95

The Monster Energy NASCAR Cup commences this weekend. Fans of The National Association for Stock Car Racing (NASCAR) are gearing up for the 60th anniversary of the famous Daytona 500. If Formula One gets an excitement rating of X, then NASCAR’s rating is arguably 10 times greater.

Race Founder

We visited The Daytona International Speedway in 2017, it’s simply breathtaking.Founded by Bill France Sr on 21 February 1948, the Daytona 500 has been contested at the Daytona International Speedway, on the East Coast of Florida. Drivers will race 200 laps over three stages (500 miles) around the 2.5-mile trioval and its incredibly steep 31-degree banking, averaging speeds of up to 196 mph. In 2015, three-time winner Jeff Gordon averaged 201.293 mph.

Daytona International Speedway


25-year-old Alex Bowman occupies Pole Position, he set a time of 46.002. Bowman is, of course, Dale Earnhardt Jr’s successor in car #88. Bowman is not tipped to win the race, however, a top-five finish is not out of the question. Denny Hamlin will join Bowman at the front of the grid.

“We have to prove we can finish the job. I think I’m confident we can do that this year. I’m hired to win races and contend for championships. I’m going to do everything I can to keep the race car clean. It’s my job to do the best job I can, and we’ll see how it plays out.” Alex Bowman via Bleacherreport

Full starting list

Race Favourites

Brad Keselowski and Denny Hamlin will be difficult to beat. Keselowski is the hot favourite at the time of writing, priced at 7/1.

Denny Hamlin 8/1
Joey Logano 10/1
Kevin Harvick 10/1
Chase Elliott 10/1
Kyle Busch 10/1
Kyle Larson 12/1
Ricky Stenhouse Jr. 12/1
Martin Truex Jr 12/1
Jimmy Johnson 12/1

There aren’t any guarantees for the winner, just a guarantee of multiple crashes. It’s plausible to suggest that up to half of the 40 starters will retire due to a coming together. Watch out for the ‘Big One’ – multiple pile-ups of five cars or more. Last year’s edition had four incidents involving at least five cars.

A number of rule changes come into play for pit crews, including a rule that prevents the team’s refueler from being allowed to perform other duties

Two-time winner Dale Earnhardt Jr. will return to Daytona 500 as a Grand Marshal. Legendary Quarterback and two-time Super Bowl winner Peyton Manning will be an honorary pace car driver.

All images property of In The Stand Sport

Please follow and like us:

Leave a Reply


Enjoy this blog? Please spread the word :)